Absolute beginner to walking? OS maps are your friend...

Discussion in 'General Walking Discussions' started by Andy_R, Oct 31, 2017.

1. Andy_R

Andy_R Of dubious origin.... Staff Member

I wish I'd had the advice that's available when I first started walking (before the days of t'interwebbymajig).
    The Ordnance Survey not only produce what are probably the most comprehensive maps available to the general public anywhere in the world, but they also have a great range of material teaching you how to read them, and how to understand them to allow you to sucessfully navigate with them. Have a look here: https://www.ordnancesurvey.co.uk/resources/map-reading/

As far as I'm concerned, navigation and map reading ability should be a prerequisite for anyone heading for the great outdoors.

2. Rocky

Rocky Regular Staff Member

Thanks for posting Andy....increasingly OS are boosting their digital presence, however being a little old fashioned, I much prefer the old paper copies of OS maps. I love just sitting at home an retracing favourite walks and planning new ones.

Lullabelle likes this.
  3. Glyder

Glyder Regular Member

I've still got all my OS maps, carefully cut out and covered with plastic backing, for the Lakes and Wales, still going strong. I have made concessions for new areas now by using Quo and waterproof printing paper.

Rocky likes this.
  4. Rickshaw Phil

Rickshaw Phil Nemesis Ridiculii Staff Member

I love OS maps. I can sit and browse them for ages looking for new routes or variations of old ones for walking and cycling.:okay:

Lullabelle and Rocky like this.
  5. Spinney

Spinney Well-Known Member Staff Member

My main use for digital is to print bits off for sea kayaking - just under A4 size, laminated, fits nicely under the elastic webbing on the foredeck!
    Now I just need to actually get the kayaks out - not been on the water for 3 or 4 years.

Summerdays likes this.
  6. TVC

TVC Active Member Staff Member